Review of Midnight Showing by Megan Shepherd (ebook)



Midnight Showing by Megan Shepherd


Book 2 in The Malice Compendium series by New York Times bestselling author Megan Shepherd, featuring dark magic and family secrets with a contemporary horror tone.

Immediately following the events of Malice House (Book 1), Haven and her newly found sister are on the road, trying to discover the contours of her family’s curse. But while they hunt, they are also hunted by the most vile creature from the previous book: a vile, aging salesman who can compel people to do anything with but a whisper and who wants to rewrite the entire world in his image.




This is a sequel, so there are spoilers from book one below.

I liked this one just as much as Malice House. Maybe even a little more. I thought the additional curses and movie excerpts were a great addition to the story. Haven and Kylie come back to the US still looking for answers. But they’re hiding out and Haven has to rely on someone she’s never met for help. They find out more about the family curse and start looking into a recent murder of a distant family member. It’s possible that there are even more monsters out there. If they’re not Haven’s creations, she won’t know what they are and how dangerous they are. Their search sends them to different locations, but a lot of the book takes place in LA. I liked the new characters and the new monsters that were just as creepy as the other ones.

I gave this book 4 stars.


Have you read this?  Is it on your TBR?





Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top